International Thanksgiving of Church of God

PNK

 

The Church if God International celebrated their 3rd Quarter International Thanksgiving last Sept. 27- 29, 2013 around the globe. It’s a three days celebration as their custom in return for God’s blessings, guidance and good health bestow upon them. As one of their scholars I joined them in this great celebration. It’s one way for me to thank God for the blessings I had received from Him.

I am not one of their members because I belong to other church. But one thing that I am very much thankful  it’s not affecting our relationships with each other. I feel like I do belong  to their group. And I choose to celebrate at La Verdad Christian College, Caloocan instead of going to Apalit. In my mind I am still planning to go home after the last topic for the day unlike if I am in Apalit it is quite far from home and also I like to help the administrators.

During the first day of the celebration, I enjoyed the topic that Bro.Eli and Bro. Daniel had discussed. There were lots of people who also joined us to celebrate at LVCC especially the elderly people, pregnant women, and those brethren who have kids. The service for children was different with the adults, and they call it KNC short for Kawan Ng Cordero. We are only few La Verdarians who stayed there, and because of that we help in maintaining the cleanliness of the venue and we are assisting the elderly. After lunch during the first day, we help at the kitchen in wrapping the lumpia, peeling vegetables and spices we also help to chop it. That was a nice experience.

And on the second day we did the same thing. And it is more exciting, we sell the Ginataang Halo-halo to the brethren. And they like it, they keep asking for more. Aside from helping in the kitchen to wrap the vegetable lumpia, I also help the cooking it.

On the third and final day of the thanksgiving, same routine happened. And we always get free food because of helping in the kitchen. Even I help them I feel that I am their visitor, as what Bro. Eli and Kuya Daniel was always saying that they must attend  the needs of their visitors especially food.

This was the best thanksgiving ever in my entire stay here at La Verdad. The venue was air-conditioned so I my skin asthma didn’t attack. And I didn’t get sick. I remember my last thanksgivings in Apalit I got cold or cough or worst fever. It is maybe because it is so hot during the day and it is raining in the afternoon. One more thing that I consider, there are lots of people from different places gathered there to celebrate. But in Caloocan our only problem was when it’s raining ,it has a water falls inside the building. We help the brethren in drying their sleeping place. Aside from thanksgiving I feel that I am blessed because I have take part in this celebration in my simple ways.

Leave a Reply

